Regions in Greece

From north to south, 13 regions and countless opportunities

The official administrative divisions of Greece consist of 13 regions, nine on the mainland and four island groups, which are further subdivided into 74 regional units and 325 municipalities. Under the 2010 Kallikratis Plan reorganising Greece’s local and regional governments, the regions were transformed into autonomous units with greater powers over local administration and regional development.

Situated at the crossroads of three continents, Greece has a key geostrategic location that positions it as a regional hub for trade, transport and energy distribution between Europe, Asia and Africa. Combined with its mild climate and its varied landscape, Greece is also a key destination in global tourism and an important producer of diverse agricultural products.

Click on a region to view an overview.

Partners of Greece Investor Guide

Greece Looks Like a Safer Destination Now

Greece will not accept a return to the strict oversight once imposed by its international creditors in return for EU emergency aid to deal with the impact of the coronavirus, PM Mitsotakis tells the @FT.

The Netherlands is donating a mobile hospital unit to Greece in response to its call for medical support in the framework of the Covid-19 pandemic. The unit is currently in transit. Updates to follow.

Load More...
Back to top button